Skip navigation

What is Seg 2,3,4,5?

or Register to post new content in the forum

21 RepliesJump to last post

Comments

• Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

• No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Apr 1, 2008 12:22 am

I am new to the whole FA career. A friend of mine has been with EDJ for about a year now and I am currently in the interview stage. I have been reading the forums for a short while now and I not been able to define what Seg 2,3,4,5 means. I understand Seg is Segment but what exactly does that mean?

Apr 1, 2008 12:34 am

It refers to levels of production (gross commissions)

Seg 2 starts when your 4 month rolling avg. is $8000 Seg 3                                                                $15000 Seg 4                                                                 $27000 Seg 5                                                                  $40,000   That plus a minimul amount of continuing education gets you to move up a segment...one becomes Seg 1 after PDP which is after a Seg New Broker spends the first 17 weeks in the field and meets some minimul production number.   Hope this is clear for you. 
Apr 1, 2008 12:45 am

Thank you for clearing that up! Is there anything higher than Seg 5?

Apr 1, 2008 12:54 am
aseubanks:

Thank you for clearing that up! Is there anything higher than Seg 5?

No...5 is the highest and it is pretty new itself.
Apr 1, 2008 12:04 pm

I have heard talk about a seg 6 for Million dollar producers, or Top Producers.  To me, there is abig difference between 40K per month and 80K per month in terms of your office and your focus.  And some of the seg 5 guys got there by chance from one or two monster months, then drop back down to seg 4 numbers.  I’ve actually seen some seg 5 guys now only doing high seg 3 numbers (20-25K).

It's hard to do $1mm production by chance or luck.