Skip navigation

Insurance 101 help needed

or Register to post new content in the forum

Comments

• Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

• No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Oct 3, 2009 7:19 pm

My first life insurance cases I ran a Hartford illustration, had the client fill out the application and then waited for offer. Not good.
Lately, I’ve been trying to do some preliminary underwriting myself, then calling an insurance brokerage and getting help in ‘shopping’ that profile. That’s resulted in more competitive quotes, but you still have the issue that if Company A surprises you with a higher quote, you have to ask the client to go through the whole process again with Company B, and C. You also have the issue that some prospects don’t want to tell you about their health history or what medication they are using, and I’m not experienced enough to know exactly what to ask in some cases.
Wouldn’t it be great if there was a central clearinghouse where you could get your client medical checked and then shop for the best deal.
Am I missing something? Is there an even better way to do this?
THanks!

Oct 3, 2009 7:30 pm

You’re missing a lot.